Introduction - Devan

Hello Aquaponics Association. My name is Devan and I currently work as an environmental scientist at a small consultancy in Massachusetts. I have degree’s in marine biology and a background in aquaculture. I am interested in joining this forum because my company wants to break into the aquaponics world and possibly work with a local high school to help ramp up their already existing aquaponics system. I am excited to learn and collaborate with you all! I am currently looking for open education based grant opportunities, if anyone has any suggestions.

Thank you

3 Likes

Hey Devan!

Thanks for the introduction and very exciting to hear that you, your company, and the high school are involving/involved in aquaponics!

I believe the USDA just released an urban agriculture and innovative production grant that may be applicable for your situation.

I’m not familiar with the MA Dept. of agriculture, but they may offer some grant opportunities that would align with what you are trying to accomplish.

Other potential resources include the following agencies:

Based on my experience this time of the year is usually when grant solicitations begin to open up so I would continually check some of these agencies to see if they release any solicitations that may be what you are looking for!

Do not hesitate to reach out directly if you have any questions.

All the best,

Joshua Dusci
[email protected]

2 Likes

Joshua,

Thank you so much for these suggestions! I will be sure to check them out. Much appreciated.

Good to have you, welcome!

1 Like

Hi Devan. I am in Mass also. I assume you are out on the shore somewhere? There isn’t much in the western part of the state. Used to be a westernMassAcuaculture Ceter at UMass Amherst but that died out years ago. I just signed up to this today and am glad to see at least one “Local” here. I am retired and am thinking of setting up a 3900 gallon RAS system… very early stages…
Rob

1 Like