Aquaculture cement tank design

Greetings,

I am about to start my Aquaponics journey, which requires some aquaculture design. Admittingly I have no experience in aquaculture design but I read/watched a lot to come with a solution that I would like to ask communities opinion.

In order to increase the efficiency of swirl filter I am going to have an overflow from 4 , 2000 gallon the cement tanks into a up/under filter then to an another biofilter and then to the sump.
The Swirl Filter will be dealing with the heavily loaded eta 20 % flow from the fish tanks, while overflow from the tanks will be recycled once they are treated.

This is a simplified version of dual drain tank design with radial flow settler, and I cant see any drawbacks other then cleaning the up/under filter occasionally.

I would really like to hear the opinion of the community on this matter.

Best Regards

Murat

2 Likes

Hi Murat, welcome to the community!

Not sure what you mean by cement tank. Also the rest of the description does not generate a clear picture in my mind of what kind of setup you have in mind.

Regarding swirl filters vs. radial flow settlers it is said that the latter have a higher efficiency and less variability wrt flow and TSS load. See:

Davidson, John, und Steven T. Summerfelt. „Solids removal from a coldwater recirculating system—comparison of a swirl separator and a radial-flow settler“. Aquacultural Engineering 33, Nr. 1 (Juni 2005): 47–61. Redirecting.

The 80%/20% ratio between draining to mechanical filtration and biofiltration seems just about in a good ballpark.

Best regards!

-rolf

Hi Rolf,

Thanx for the reply,

By cement tank I mean concrete tank for fish rearing. In this part of the world people use the term cement tank/concrete tank interchangeably.

The rest of your comment, I wholeheartedly agree and I have read some of Summerfelts papers regarding both fish rearing and aquaponics.